What is a 5 Point Scale?

I use 5 Point Scales all the time at work. The 5 Point Scale is a visual, non-verbal way of communicating emotions and feelings.

The Scale can be completely unique and customisable to the situation and child/young person you're working with but the basic version consists of the numbers 1-5 with each number being associated to a feeling and a colour:

5 - Mad, I can not cope! (RED)
4 - Angry (ORANGE)
3 - Frustrated or Anxious (YELLOW)
2 - Annoyed, but can cope (GREEN)
1 - Calm OK  (BLUE)

How do I use the 5 Point Scale?

I often use the 5 Point Scale alongside trigger lists and questionnaires to help identify specific triggers for my students that may automatically put them on a 3 or 4. This can the also help us identify things that make them feel calm and okay.

The 5 Point scale can also be used to help students self-regulate their own emotions by giving them a visual to associate with and by giving them greater awareness over their feelings which, if used consistently and regularly as part of the emotional intervention, can lead to healthier and mental health and emotional literacy!

We also use the 5 Point Scale to help show students that feelings are movable and not just stationary. This can help to show young people that if we continue with some things then our feeling may increase (go up the scale) or, if appropriate deescalation techniques are used, feelings can deescalate (move down the scale). This also teaches young people about the consequences and choices associated with their behaviors and feelings.

There are loads of resources available on the internet and from books about the 5 Point Scale.
My shop on TPT has a bunch of 5 Point scale themed resources HERE!
There is also the 5 Point Scale website HERE!

I'll happily write more in-depth or specific 5 Point Scale posts in the future if you're interested by thought it would be good to start with a simple overview!

Enjoy! 😊


Popular posts from this blog

The search for SPD

My life saver!